When there is NO GAS

Posted on June 22, 2007

2


for cooking in the kitchen and you don’t own a rice cooker or slow cooker, this is what you can do:

deception

I can’t use the electric jug in my room cos i don’t have enough Ampere for it, it takes 3Ampere to allow me to use that jug. For 1Ampere i’m suppose to pay RP25k, so since i need additional 3 the amount will nearly RP100k where i my as well use that amount of money for food catering!

deception

See it’s cooking!
As mere student you got to me innovating with what you have, especially when exams are around the corner, you happen to be very lazy to go search for food and variety of food is scarce around your area.

deception

This colourful kuih you see is one of Indonesia’s local kuih la. I’ve not seen it in Bandung, they have it in Surabaya and recently Malang. Surprise, surprise! The kuih is made from EGGS and FLOUR plus lots of Food Colouring. My local friend told me that the yellow colour is the original colour coming from the egg, i doubt it cos the yellow is too bright too be dismiss as colouring. Each different colour have different taste: Coffee(brown), Strawberry(red), Durian(yellow or green). Cost only RP1k for a box.

deception

This is Pisang Pengat made by ‘CoffeeMate’. Lack of nangka and some nice ‘tong yuen’ balls to add into it. Adding sago will be wonderful! It tasted not like Pisang Pengat but it was good, it tasted like Cendol syrup!

Posted in: Gastronomy